Knowledgebase

 
 

Version 7, 2019

×
Menu

Xero Change Exported Data and Error Messages


On this page:

History Log

Amending Invoices and Payments in Bp Allied that have already been exported to Xero will have some consequences. To warn the user, and hopefully minimise the impact, warnings pop up in Bp Allied when trying to edit exported items. All Invoices and payments that have been exported have this noted in the history log.
 

Saving error messages

There are two ways to save and/or manage error messages that come out of the Xero export to enable investigation:
 
Save log
The Save Log button at the bottom of the Xero Exports screen allows a log of the all the transactions that occur since the opening of the screen to be saved as a .txt file to a location of the user’s choice.
 
Copy message box
Any errors that occur during export will display in a dialog box with the ability to copy the message to allow for follow up, if required.
 

Effect of changing a Paid invoice

If an Invoice needs amending, then the corresponding changes need to be made in Xero.
Amendments to Invoices and Payments are not able to be updated via the API.
 
What happens when trying to amend an exported invoice and payment combination?
An updated Confirm Removal dialog box is displayed when an invoice is removed from a payment notifying that the export of that information has taken place and that any changes need to be duplicated in Xero
 
When the export of the Invoice takes place, the following message will appear:
 
 
This happens when an invoice with a payment assigned has been exported to Xero and then in Bp Allied the payment is unassigned and the invoice is modified and exported again.
The solution is for the user to manually remove the invoice from the payment in Xero.
 
When the export of the Payment takes place, the following message will appear:
 
This happens when a payment is unassigned in Bp Allied without manually updating the payment in Xero, then the payment is assigned again and payments are exported again.
The solution is to manually update the payment in Xero and export payments again.
 
Alternatively, this can also occur if a payment has been manually added to an Invoice in Xero. In which case the payment will never be able to be allocated.
 

Void an exported but unpaid invoice in Bp Allied

If an Invoice has been exported to Xero but remains unpaid. It can be voided in Bp Allied and the export will also void that Invoice ion Xero.
 

Void an exported invoice in Xero

When the export of the invoice takes place, the following message will appear:
 
This happens when an invoice is exported to Xero, voided in Xero, modified in Bp Allied, and exported again.
The solution is for the user to manually void or delete the invoice in Bp Allied and add it again.
 
When the export of the payment takes place, then the following message will display:
 
 
This happens when an invoice is exported to Xero then voided in Xero and paid in Bp Allied and the payment exported.
The solution is to void the invoice in Bp Allied and then in Bp Allied create a new invoice and assigned the payment to it.
 

An item (product or service) is missing from Xero

When the export of the Invoice takes place, the following message will appear:
 
 
This happens when an item in Xero is deleted and then in Bp Allied an invoice with that item is created and exported.
OR
If a new item has been created and has not been exported to Xero
The solution is to export All Products and Services again and then export the invoice.
 

Client has not been exported to Xero

When the export of the Invoice with a client who has not been exported takes place, the following message will appear:
 
This happens when there are contacts in Bp Allied that have not been exported to Xero.
The solution is to export All Clients again and then export the invoice.
 

Refund is voided and re-issued

 
This happens when a refund in Bp Allied is deleted and another refund is created in Bp Allied for the same invoice.
The solution is for the user to manually remove the refund from the payment in Xero.
 

Xero user initialisation error

This error occurs when a User does not have both a first name and a last name.
 
To resolve, close the Xero export,
Update the User to have both a first name and a last name
Open the Xero export,
Re-export Clients and the rest of the Practitioners will export as part of this process.
 
 

Account code the for line item is incorrect

The full error message is:
"The Account Code for the line item is incorrect. Accounts for overpayments can only be Accounts Receivable for Receive Overpayments or Accounts Payable for Spend OverPayments."
 
This is caused by the system set Accounts Receivable account having the incorrect account code. This MUST be set to 610.
 

Resubmitted Medicare / DVA claim with a zero payment

Xero does not allow a payment of $0 value to be added to an invoice. These occur for any Medicare or DVA claims that have been resubmitted. To enable the rest of the payments to be sent through into xero use the filter options in the grid to remove any $0 payments.
 
To do this:
Click on the pushpin in the top right hand corner of the Payment Amount field
Select Custom
The Custom Autofilter window will display
 
Update the filter to Does not equal $0.00
Click Ok
The filter will be displayed at the bottom of the grid and all the zero balance payment will be removed.
Process the payments as usual