Knowledge Base

 
 

Version 7, 2019

×
Menu

Change permissions within a Role


On this page:

Change a role workflow

 
 
Resetting permissions for Clients as shown overrrides any client permissions changed via the Client Record EXCEPT the assignment of Primary Practitioner.
 
When creating or changing a role to a all permissions become immediately available except for the permissions based around a Client. When the Client Access permissions for a role is changed and it is already assigned to a user, then the Client access needs to be reset in the Client Access table using the method at the bottom of this page.
 

Change permissions within a Role

 

Set Client Access permissions for a Role

Each role has a series of Client access permissions set by default. These are defined in the title of the Role. The Client access permissions within a defined role, or in a new role can be changed by doing the following:
From System > Manage Permissions
 
OR
System > Options > User Administration > Permissions > Manage Roles and Permissions
Open the Role that needs updating
Scroll down the to Clients (4000 permissions series)
 
Click on one of the hyperlinks
The Client Permissions Management screen will display
 
Select the relevant permission/s from the first 5 boxes
Select the relevant Document, Email, SMS and Phone History permissions
Tip: Use the Clear All button to start again if need be
Click OK
The relevant permissions will be displayed in the Roles permissions list.
 

Update the Client access table with new access permissions

Reset permissions is used when the Client Access permissions for a Role are changed so that the access against each Client in the Client Access table is updated.
 
The Reset Permissions Options window will display
 
Select either All Roles, or choose a role from the Selected Role list
 
Click Exclude Manual to ignore any manual changes made to a User’s Client Access permissions
Click Preview to review the changes, by clicking Reset
 
Uncheck Preview to continue with the update.
Click Reset to run the Update
 
If Exclude Manual is selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made
 
If Exclude Manual is NOT selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made
 
A System Administrator user must be selected and password entered to make the change.
Click OK
The number of records updated for the relevant users will be displayed.
Click Close to close the window.