Knowledge Base

 
 

Version 7, 2019

×
Menu

Telehealth appointments using Zoom


On this page:

Before you start:
  • Integration of Zoom is per practitioner and needs to be set up individually for each person.
  • Each practitioner needs to have a Zoom account entered into Options, if there is a practice account, the integration still needs to be set for each practitioner.
  • The limitations for Zoom accounts still apply, for example a basic account will only allow one meeting to be run at a time.
  • Zoom meetings cannot be run on your Fully Hosted connection - please install the Zoom Application on your local desktop and start your meetings from there.
  • Moving an appointment from one practitioner to another is not supported and the Zoom meeting will be removed.
  • Telehealth SMS's will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.
  • Deleting a Telehealth appointment does not notify the Client.
 
Bp Allied applies the following security defaults to all Meetings created. Disabling these options is not recommended.
  • Passwords are created for all meetings
  • Video is on for both parties
  • Waiting room is enabled
  • Join before host is enabled, participants will wait in the Waiting Room for the meeting to start
  • Automatically record meeting is disabled
 
 

Set up the Zoom API connection for a practitioner

 
 

Location & Reminder recommendations

The Telehealth appointment has it's own reminders that include the Zoom meeting link, Meeting ID and Password. These can be sent at any point after the appointment is made.
  • Telehealth SMS's will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.
 
The usual SMS and Email reminders can still be sent to a Client. If your Practice is going to continue to use these, then we recommend that your practice set up a Telehealth Location to set against a Telehealth appointment. This will mean that any SMS or Email reminders sent will not include the usual Practice location which could cause your client confusion.
 
 

Add a Telehealth appointment

Once the API connection is created adding a Telehealth appointment is simple.
  • Telehealth meetings cannot be made for a time in the past. They can only be made for future appointment dates.
 
 

Send the Zoom Meeting information to your client

The Telehealth appointment has it's own reminders that include the Zoom meeting link, Meeting ID and Password. These can be sent at any point after the appointment is made.
  • Telehealth SMS's will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.
 
 
 

Starting a Telehealth Appointment as a Practitioner

All Zoom Telehealth appointments will be displayed in the Practitioners Zoom account and can be started from either the Zoom App or browser when logged into Zoom. In addition to this, all the Zoom links are available via the View Zoom Details form and can be copied from there to start a session.
 
 
 

Starting a Telehealth Appointment as a Client

A client does not need to have the Zoom app already installed as long as they have the rights to install the Zoom app on whatever device they are using.
 
The client clicks on the Link in their SMS or Email message
 
 and follows the devices instructions, for example select Open Link
 
Follow the prompts to install the App
Once the App is installed, clicking the Link again will let them join the meeting without having to type in any details.
 

Delete a Telehealth Appointment

If the Telehealth appointment is not required it must be deleted.
  • Deleting a Telehealth appointment does not cancel the appointment
  • Deleting the Telehealth appointment does not notify the Client
 
 

Moving a Telehealth Appointment

If an appointment with Telehealth ticked is moved, then the telehealth appointment is deleted and a new appointment is created. This is automatically updated in Zoom.
 
  • Moving an appointment from one practitioner to another is not supported and the Zoom meeting will be removed.
 
After an appointment is moved, the following message will be displayed: