Telehealth Appointments Using Zoom

This article explains how to set up and manage telehealth appointments using Zoom integration.

Before you start

  • Integration of Zoom is per practitioner and needs to be set up individually for each person.
  • Each practitioner needs to have a Zoom account entered into Options. If there is a practice account, the integration still needs to be set for each practitioner.
  • The limitations for Zoom accounts still apply, for example, a basic account will only allow one meeting to be run at a time.
  • Zoom meetings cannot be run on your Fully Hosted connection - please install the Zoom Application on your local desktop and start your meetings from there.
  • Moving an appointment from one practitioner to another is not supported and the Zoom meeting will be removed.
  • Telehealth SMS will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent.
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.
  • Deleting a Telehealth appointment does not notify the Client.

Bp Allied applies the following security defaults to all Meetings created. Disabling these options is not recommended.

  • Passwords are created for all meetings.
  • Video is on for both parties.
  • Waiting room is enabled.
  • Join before host is enabled, participants will wait in the Waiting Room for the meeting to start.
  • Automatically record meeting is disabled.

Set up the Zoom API connection for a practitioner

NOTE  The Zoom account used to set up the Zoom integration must have 'Owner' or 'Admin' privileges.

  1. Go to https://marketplace.zoom.us/
  2. Click Sign In and login using your Zoom account email and password.
  3. Click on Develop > Build App.
  4.  

  5. On the Choose your app type page select JWT > Create.
  6.  

  7. In App Name enter Bp Allied.
  8.  

  9. Click Create.
  10. Enter in your Practice name, your name and email address (as per your Zoom account) as required in the Basic and Developer Contact Information sections.
  11. Click Continue.
  12. The App Credentials will display. Leave this page open.
  13. Go to Options > User Administration.
  14. Find the required practitioner.
  15. Go to the Zoom tab.
  16. Check Zoom Enabled.
  17.  

  18. Enter in the Practitioners Zoom Account Email address in Account Email.
  19. Go back to the Zoom App Credentials page.
  20. Copy the API Key and API Secret from Zoom and paste into the respective fields in Bp Allied.
  21. Click Test Connection.
  22. Connection successful means that the API connection has been set up and you are ready to go with Zoom.

    If the connection is not successful, re-copy and paste the API Key and API Secret from Zoom into Bp Allied.

  23. Click Ok to close and save the details in Bp Allied.
  24. On the Zoom App Credentials page, click Continue twice.
  25. The Your app is activated message should display.

     

This web page can now be closed.

After closing and re-opening the Appointment book, Telehealth appointments can now be booked for your added Practitioner.

Location and Reminder recommendations

The Telehealth appointment has it's own reminders that include the Zoom meeting link, Meeting ID and Password. These can be sent at any point after the appointment is made.

  • Telehealth SMS will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent.
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.

TIP  The usual SMS and Email reminders can still be sent to a Client. If your Practice is going to continue to use these, then we recommend that your practice set up a Telehealth Location to set against a Telehealth appointment. This will mean that any SMS or Email reminders sent will not include the usual Practice location which could cause your client confusion.

Depending on your reminder set up, you may need to enter:

  1. Location Name
  2. AND/OR

    Address Line 1 (if this is added then a Suburb must be added too)

  3. Location Type = R (Rooms)

All indications from Medicare at this time are that this Location Type should be set to this.

Add a Telehealth appointment

Once the API connection is created adding a Telehealth appointment is simple.

Telehealth meetings cannot be made for a time in the past. They can only be made for future appointment dates.

  1. Create an appointment for your client in the usual way.
  2. Tick Telehealth.
  3. As Zoom is the currently enabled provider, this will default in.
  4. Once the appointment has been saved the View Details button will be enabled.
  5. Select Location if your practice is using a Telehealth location.
  6.  

  7. Untick Reminders, if your Practice is not going to use the standard SMS / Email reminders.
  8. Click Ok to save.

An indicator that an appointment is a Zoom Telehealth appointment can be seen in the Appointment book if the Show Icons option is turned on. The Zoom icon will display.

 

Once saved, viewing the Appointment in Zoom will display the following details:

  • The Topic is set to the Clients name.
  • The following security defaults are set by Bp Allied. Disabling these options is not recommended.
  • Passwords are created for all meetings.
  • Video is on for both parties.
  • Waiting room is enabled.
  • Join before host is enabled, participants will wait in the Waiting Room for the meeting to start.
  • Automatically record meeting is disabled.

Send the Zoom Meeting information to your client

The Telehealth appointment has it's own reminders that include the Zoom meeting link, Meeting ID and Password. These can be sent at any point after the appointment is made.

  • Telehealth SMS's will cost 2 credits because of the amount of information to be sent.
  • Telehealth SMS and Email message templates are not configurable and can not be sent in bulk via the reminders screen or via the Scheduler.
  1. Either right click on the appointment and select View Zoom Meeting Details.
  2. OR

    Open the appointment and click View Details.

  3. Click either (or both) Send Zoom SMS or Send Zoom Email to send the details to your client.
  4. Click Preview to view the details sent to your client
  5. Once sent, the SMS Sent and/or Email Sent checkbox will be ticked.
  6. To re-send, click the Send button again.

    A copy of all the SMS and Emails sent will be logged in Client Details > Documents/Phone Calls > Contacts section.

Starting a Telehealth Appointment as a Practitioner

All Zoom Telehealth appointments will be displayed in the Practitioners Zoom account and can be started from either the Zoom App or browser when logged into Zoom. In addition to this, all the Zoom links are available via the View Zoom Details form and can be copied from there to start a session.

  1. Either right click on the appointment and select View Zoom Meeting Details.
  2. OR

    Open the appointment and click View Details.

  3. Click the copy icon next to the Start Meeting Link.
  4. Paste into your browser.
  5. Press enter.
  6. Follow your browsers instructions to launch the meeting.

Starting a Telehealth Appointment as a Client

A client does not need to have the Zoom app already installed as long as they have the rights to install the Zoom app on whatever device they are using.

  1. The client clicks on the Link in their SMS or Email message.
  2.  Client follows the devices instructions, for example select Open Link.
  3. Follow the prompts to install the App
  4. Once the App is installed, clicking the Link again will let them join the meeting without having to type in any details.

Delete a Telehealth Appointment

If the Telehealth appointment is not required it must be deleted.

  • Deleting a Telehealth appointment does not cancel the appointment.
  • Deleting the Telehealth appointment does not notify the Client. It is up to the Practice or Practitioner to let the Client know that the type of meeting has changed.
  1. Either right click on the appointment and select View Zoom Meeting Details.
  2. OR

    Open the appointment and click View Details.

  3. Click Delete Zoom Meeting.

This will delete the meeting from your Zoom interface.

If the appointment itself needs to be Cancelled, this can be done in the usual way.

Moving a Telehealth Appointment

If an appointment with Telehealth ticked is moved, then the Telehealth appointment is deleted and a new appointment is created. This is automatically updated in Zoom.

NOTE  Moving an appointment from one practitioner to another is not supported and the Zoom meeting will be removed.

After an appointment is moved, the following message will be displayed: