Change Permissions Within a Role

Change a role workflow

Resetting permissions for Clients as shown overrrides any client permissions changed via the Client Record EXCEPT the assignment of Primary Practitioner.

When creating or changing a role to a Primary Practitioner, all permissions become immediately available except for the permissions based around a Client. When the Client Access permissions for a role is changed and it is already assigned to a user, then the Client access needs to be reset in the Client Access table using the method at the bottom of this page.

Change permissions within a Role

  1. Go to the System tab.
  2. Click on Manage Permissions.
  3. Click the + next to the role to change.
  4. Tick or untick the permissions that are required.
  5. See here for changing Client Access permissions.

  6. If the Client Access permissions have changed, click Apply.
  7. Then click Reset Permissions > Reset.
  8. Click Ok.
  9. Click Apply and OK to save and close the window.

Set Client Access permissions for a Role

Each role has a series of Client access permissions set by default. These are defined in the title of the Role. The Client access permissions within a defined role, or in a new role can be changed by doing the following:

  1. Go to System > Manage Permissions
  2. OR

    System > Options > User Administration > Permissions > Manage Roles and Permissions.

  3. Open the Role that needs updating.
  4. Scroll down the to Clients (4000 permissions series).
  5. Click on one of the hyperlinks.
  6. The Client Permissions Management screen will display.
  7. Select the relevant permission/s from the first 5 boxes.
  8. Choosing a permission from the screen will enable any other dependent permissions based on the table above.

  9. Select the relevant Document, Email, SMS and Phone History permissions.
  10. Use the Clear All button to start again if need be.
  11. Click OK.

The relevant permissions will be displayed in the Roles permissions list.

Update the Client access table with new access permissions

Reset permissions is used when the Client Access permissions for a Role are changed so that the access against each Client in the Client Access table is updated.

  1. Go to the System tab.
  2. Click on Manage Permissions.
  3. The Permissions Management window will display.
  4. Click on Reset Permissions.
  5. The Reset Permissions Options window will display.
  6. Select either All Roles, or choose a role from the Selected Role list.
  7. If your practice has a large number of clients, updating the Client Access permissions on a role by role basis is recommended.

  8. Click Exclude Manual to ignore any manual changes made to a User’s Client Access permissions.
  9. Click Preview to review the changes, by clicking Reset.
  10. Uncheck Preview to continue with the update.
  11. Click Reset to run the Update.
  12. If Exclude Manual is selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made.
  13. If Exclude Manual is NOT selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made.
  14. A System Administrator user must be selected and password entered to make the change.
  15. Click OK.
  16. The number of records updated for the relevant users will be displayed.

  17. Click Close to close the window.