The appointment book has a cancellation list, which holds patients who have future appointments but would like to be seen earlier if a cancellation occurs. If an appointment is cancelled, you can set the cancellation list to appear automatically.
Can I add a patient to a wait list without booking an appointment?
If you have not yet upgraded to Saffron SP1, No. The cancellation list is for patients who have a future booking that can be moved forward. Bp Premier's appointment book does not have a 'wait list' that contains patients without a booking who are waiting for an available appointment that day.
As of Saffron SP1, patients with or without an existing appointment can be added to the cancellation list. If you are using an earlier version of Bp Premier, you will only be able to add patients to the wait list if they have a future booking that can be moved forward.
Add to the cancellation list when creating an appointment
- If you are booking an appointment for a patient, on the Appointment details screen, tick the Add to waiting list for cancellation checkbox as shown below.
- If the patient is happy to see any provider if a cancellation occurs, not just their usual doctor, also tick the Will see any provider for cancellations checkbox.
- Click Save to save the appointment.
If the patient already has a booked appointment, right-click on the appointment and select Edit Appointment. Tick the Add to waiting list for cancellation checkbox.
Add to the cancellation list without an appointment
In Saffron SP1, appointments can be added to the cancellation list without an existing appointment.
- From the appointment book, select View > Waiting list for cancellations. The Patients awaiting cancellations screen will appear.
- Click Add to cancellation list. The Add to Cancellation List screen will appear.
- Fill in the cancellation list item details. The Add to cancellation list screen has similar fields to the Add appointment screen.
See Book or update an appointment for more information.
- Ensure you select the date that the patient needs the appointment by from the Date required by: field. The cancellation list item will expire at the end of the day selected. Once an item has expired, an appointment can no longer be made for it.
- Click Add.
The item can now be selected to fill cancelled appointments.
Fill a cancelled appointment with a cancellation list item
When an appointment is cancelled, the cancellation list screen can be used to bring forward a patient’s appointment, or to create an appointment for a patient who as been added to the cancellation list with no existing appointment.
- Place the cursor in the available appointment slot and select View > Waiting list for Cancellations or press Ctrl + F11. The Patients awaiting cancellations screen will appear.
- To include patients waiting for cancellation who will see any doctor, tick Include patient who will see anybody.
- If you need to access more information about the patient, click the Patient details button at the bottom of the screen.
- To book a patient, select the patient in the list and click Select.
- If the patient has an original appointment that is less than a week in the future, a message will appear. Click Yes to accept.
- The Accept cancellation window will appear showing the patient’s details.
- To book the patient, click Accept.
The screen lists all patients who are waiting for a cancellation with the provider shown. The list is sorted in the order that patients were added to the cancellation list.
To keep the patient on the waiting list, tick the Leave on waiting list for another cancellation box and click Accept.
You will return to the appointment book.
Remove a patient from the cancellation list
- Place the cursor in any appointment slot which is available and select View > Waiting list for Cancellations or press Ctrl + F11. The Patients awaiting cancellations screen will appear.
- Select the patient from the list and click Remove.
- Click Yes at the prompt.
- Click Close to close the cancellations list.
View expired cancellation list items
In Saffron SP1, tick Show expired in the Patients awaiting cancellations window to view any cancellation list items that have expired without an appointment being made. Expired entries can be removed from the list.
Once an item has expired, an appointment can no longer be made for it.
Automatically display the cancellation list
You can set the cancellation list to automatically appear whenever an appointment is cancelled, to help staff remember to fill cancelled appointments.
NOTE You must have the 'Configuration' permission set to Allow access in order to view and set Configuration options.
- Select Setup > Configuration from the main Bp Premier screen.
- Select the Appointments tab.
- Tick the Show Cancellation list when an appointment is cancelled checkbox.
- Click Save to save changes.
Last updated 05 February 2021